Freedom Awards

Anti-Slavery Australia hosts the biennial Freedom Awards – the only prize in Australia which recognises the outstanding contributions of individuals, organisations and businesses to combat modern slavery and make a positive impact on the lives of trafficked and enslaved people. 

The Freedom Awards celebrate diverse anti-slavery initiatives and highlight the achievements and work being done across the community to combat modern slavery.

Past Recipients


    • Chris Crewther Chair of the Foreign affairs and Aid Sub-Committee of the Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade for his outstanding contribution to the abolition of all forms of slavery in Australia
    • Dr Darian McBain, Global Director of Corporate Affairs and Sustainability at Thai Union Group, for her outstanding contribution to the field of ethical sourcing and human rights in the seafood industry.
    • James Bartle, founding CEO of Outland Denim, for his outstanding contribution to combatting modern slavery in the fashion industry
    • Måns Carlsson-Sweeny, Head of Environmental, Social and Governance Research at Ausbil, for his contribution to Modern Slavery Awareness in Financial Services (High Commendation)


    • Kate van Doore, Griffith University Law School and co-founder Forget Me Not Australia, for her outstanding contribution to research and advocacy in the area of orphanage trafficking
    • Dr Kathy Landvogt, Safeguarding Lead, Good Shepherd Australia and New Zealand, for her outstanding contribution to research and advocacy in the area of forced marriage.        
    • Konica Minolta Business Solutions Australia Pty Ltd, for an outstanding contribution to the field of ethical sourcing and human rights.


    • Baptist World Aid Australia, for their Behind the Barcode Campaign
    • Alison Aggarwal, Principal Adviser/Manager at the Australian Human Rights Commission in recognition of an outstanding contribution to human rights and anti-slavery initiatives in Australia
    • Alan Morison, veteran Australian journalist, Phuketwan News Service, Thailand for an outstanding contribution to the fight against modern slavery and human trafficking
    • Dr Maree Marsh csb, Brigidine sister, psychologist and former chair of ACRATH, (Australian Catholic Religious Against Trafficking in Humans) for her outstanding contribution to the protection and support of human trafficking survivors in Australia


    • Melissa Stewart, for her significant work in the area of policy, research, and evidence-building work on trafficking in persons in Australia and globally since 2009
    • Christine Caroline, for her instrumental work in ensuring the successful operation of ACRATH’s Anti-Trafficking efforts
    • The Human Trafficking Section of the Commonwealth AGD for their significant contribution to Australia’s anti-trafficking efforts

    Anti-Slavery Award


    • Joanne Pugsley, Solicitor, Anti-Slavery Australia, for her outstanding contribution to supporting survivors of modern slavery.


    • Norton Rose Fulbright for its research contribution to the prevention of modern slavery.
    • UTS Law Student Contribution recognised the students who served ASA through the 2017 Allens Neota UTS Law Tech Challenge for Social Justice.